On January 1st, 2018, a new Parental Leave Law takes effect in California. The law applies to employers with 20+ employees and covers employees who are not eligible for Family Medical Leave (FMLA) or California Family Rights Act (CFRA).
California employees (who are fathers or mothers) are now able to take up to 12-weeks of unpaid, job protected leave to bond with their newborn, newly adopted child, or foster child. The law allows employers to supplement the employee’s unpaid leave with any unpaid or paid time off benefit program; such as vacation time, sick leave, etc. While the employee is out, the employer must guarantee their benefit coverage. Upon return, the employer must make available to the employee, the position they held prior to the leave, or a comparable one.
- Works more than 12 months for the employer
- Worked at least 1,250 hours during the previous 12-month period
- Works at a worksite where the employer has at least 20 employees within a 75-mile radius
To learn more how this new law impacts Californian employers, please visit the following links:
- Cal Chambers’ webinar providing an overview of the new CA Parental Leave Law: click here
- Related article: click here
- Additional Information: click here and here
- California Chambers of Commerce. (Producer). (2017). New Parental Leave for Small Businesses [Video webinar]. Retrieved from http://media.calchamber.com/Webinars/20171116/20171116.html
- Nagele-Piazza, Lisa (2017). “California Parental Leave Bill Sent to Governor’s Desk”. Society for Human Resource Management. 20 Sept. 2017. https://www.shrm.org/resourcesandtools/legal-and-compliance/state-and-local-updates/pages/california-lawmakers-send-parental-leave-bill-to-governor.aspx